SRI VENKATESWARA UNIVERSITY ACT

Sri Venkateswara University was established in 1954, in Tirupatito cater to the educational needs and aspirations of people of the Rayalaseema Region (United Chittoor district) of Andhra Pradesh. After completing 68 years of excellence in teaching, research, extension, and outreach activities, the University is committed to catering to the needs of higher education offering a full range of postgraduate programs in Arts, Sciences, Law, Management, Education, Physical Education, Engineering and Pharmacy disciplines. From a humble beginning of one College with six departments, the University has now grown into the second largest University in Andhra Pradesh having five constituent Colleges Viz. College of Arts, College of Sciences, College of Commerce, Management & Computer Science, College of Pharmacy, and College of Engineering accommodating 52 departments offering 88 programs.

The University has made rapid strides in the field of higher education and research and is adjudged as one of the best Universities in the country and got ACCREDITED with 'A+' GRADE BY NAAC-2017.

The latest amendment applicable to other Universities in the State also was made by the A.P. Act No. XIII of 1995.

The amendment of the Act came into force from 21-02-1995 as per the G.O.Ms. No. 43 Education (U.E.1-2) Department dated 21-02-1995. Till then the Board of Management functioned as the Governing Body of the University with all the provisions enshrined therein. Though the name of the governing body is changed into the Executive Council the constitution of the Executive Council actually took place on 22-04-1995. The salient features of the Act No. XIII of 1995 are:

- The constitution of the Executive Council (in the place of the Board of management) with six ex-officio and nine nominated Members (one senior Professor of the University Colleges, one Principal of the University Colleges, one Principal of the Affiliated Colleges, one teacher from among the teachers of the University Colleges, one teacher from among the teachers of Affiliated Colleges, and four eminent persons representing Industry, Agriculture, Trade, Commerce, Education, Public Life, Legal Profession, Social Work, etc.,)
- Every Member of the Executive Council other than Ex-officio Members shall hold office during the pleasure of the Governor.
- The Executive Council shall meet at least once in three months and may meet often if necessary.
- Upon a requisition in writing signed by not less than one-third of the total number of Members of the Executive Council, the Vice-Chancellor shall convene a meeting thereof on a date specified by him which shall not be later than seven days from the date of receipt of requisition aforesaid.

DIRECTOR
Centre for Distance and
Online Education (CDOE)
Sri Venkateswara University
TIRUPATI - 517 502.

REGISTRAR S.V. UNIVERSITY TIRUPATI

- In the absence of the Vice-Chancellor from any meeting of the Executive Council, the
 members present at the meeting shall choose one among themselves to preside over
 the meeting.
- The quorum for the meeting of the Executive Council shall be one-third of the total number of the Members or six persons, whichever is less.
- For the words "Board of Management" wherever they occur, the words "Executive Council" shall be substituted.

However, the norms concerning the Academic Senate remain, as per Act No.4 of 1991).

Centre for Distance and Online Education (CDOE) Srl Venkateswara University

TIRUPATI - 517 502.

REGISTRAR S.V. UNIVERSITY

TIRUPATI